A picture of the Quad on campusA picture of the Quad on campus

The T.R.A.I.T. Team

Why the Team is Necessary

Universities must establish a formal process of sharing information about potential acts of violence.  Reviews of the Virginia Tech incident indicate that while some faculty and staff members at Virginia Tech had grave concerns about the student shooter, there was no vehicle for forwarding those concerns to school officials who may have been able to intervene to avoid the tragedy.  Often, no single piece of information is enough to prevent a tragedy; however, the accumulation of information helps identify a person at risk, allowing for intervention and prevention.  The threat response, assessment and intervention team serves as the conduit for information flow.

Creation of the team is a proactive way to coordinate and plan an appropriate approach to deal with the complexities often involved with threats and violence. Key objectives of the team are to identify, assess, manage and reduce potential threats to the University community and to educate faculty, staff and students about the dangers of interpersonal violence.

No committee can completely protect the University community from every act of violence.  The creation of this team, however, increases the likelihood that potential violence can be identified so that reasonable steps can be taken to avoid it.

Team Members

Tim Susick – 724-938-1603
Associate Vice President, Student Affairs
susick@calu.edu

Chief Ed McSheffery – 724-938-4299
University Police
mcsheffery@calu.edu

Office of Social Equity/Special Assistant to the President for EEEO
John Burnett - 724-938-4014
burnett@calu.edu

Office of Provost/Academic Affairs Interim Associate Provost/Associate Vice President
Caryl Sheffield - 724-938-4302
sheffield@calu.edu

Bruce Barnhart – 724-938-4407
Acting Provost/ Vice President for Academic Affairs
barnhart@calu.edu

Nancy Pinardi – 724-938-4439
Vice President, Student Affairs
pinardi@calu.edu

Larry Sebek – 724-938-4513
Associate Vice President, Student Affairs
sebek@calu.edu