Site Search

Cal U Men UnitedCal U Men United

Cal U Men United

Young men of color face unique challenges as they pursue academic, career and social success.  California University of Pennsylvania's Cal U Men United offers assistance to overcome these obstacles.  Cal U Men United is a mentoring group designed to aid students throughout their collegiate careers.  Our mission is to provide a campus community that will support the growth, development and achievement of young men of color as they strive to become men of character prepared to take an active role in the global community.  Cal U Men United provides mentorship, career planning activities, social events and workshops to address the needs of our students.  Meetings are held bi-weekly, in addition to special events that are planned throughout the year.

This program provides or arranges a variety of academic and student services, along with personal enrichment activities that will advance intellectual and personal growth.  Some of the services include:

  • Academic Enrichment
  • Social Awareness/Competence
  • Civic Engagement
  • Personal Responsibility
  • Leadership Development
  • Community Involvement
  • Identity Development
  • Career Preparation
  • Communication Skills 

Contact the Cal U Men United Advisory Board

Dr. Karen Amrhein
University-Wide Mentoring
724-938-1682
posa@calu.edu

Coach William Brown
Head Men’s Basketball Coach
724-938-4360
Brown_w@calu.edu

Vice President Craig Butzine
VP for University Marketing and Relations
724-938-1675
butzine@calu.edu

Dr. Todd Carlisle
English Department
724-938-1577
Carlisle@calu.edu

Dr. John Cencich
Dean of the Graduate School
724-938-4066
Cencich@calu.edu

Dr. Charles Crowley
Exercise Science/Sport Studies
724-938-4976
Crowley@calu.edu

Ms. Crystale Fleming
Student Success Facilitator
724-938-5647
fleming@calu.edu

Minister Darla Holmes
Modern Languages and Cultures
724-938-4246
holmes@calu.edu

Dr. Gwen Perry-Burney
Department of Social Work
724-938-5937
perryburney@calu.edu 

Ms. Jennifer Ramsey
Upward Bound Program
724-938-4465
Ramsey@calu.edu

Mr. Eric Tarpley
Office of Admissions
724-938-4404
Tarpley@calu.edu

Minister Pete Ware
Campus Ministry
215-880-5872
pware@ccojubilee.org

Ms. Cynthia Young
Family Portal Manager
724-938-4866
young@calu.edu

Click the image below to view a video from the Black, Brown and College Bound Summit in Tampa, Fla.

 

Like Us on Facebook

Go to Facebook page