Site Search

Faculty/StaffFaculty/Staff

Faculty Professional Development Committee: Grants and Contracts Subcommittee

Grants are defined as money given for a specific purpose. In academia, faculty may receive grants for the performance of research, service projects, enhancing or developing pedagogical skills, and/or equipment and supplies needed to facilitate the aforementioned areas. Generally, grants are awarded based on the merit of a proposal written for said monies.

Purpose

The purpose of the Grants-and Contracts Subcommittee is:

  1. assisting faculty with finding appropriate funding sources;
  2. work to encourage faculty to write proposals to help meet contractual obligations for tenure and promotion;
  3. aid faculty in the writing process by taking part in the editing process in order to help faculty use appropriate content and writing style germane to grant proposal;
  4. sponsoring grant-writing workshops for faculty.

The Grants-and Contracts Subcommittee should be a resource on campus for faculty interested in finding independent funding for their professional development.

 

Grants and Contracts Subcommittee Members

 

Sarah Meiss
Chair
Department of Biological & Environmental Sciences
724-938-4203
meiss@calu.edu

Mark Aune
Department of English
724-938-4341
aune@calu.edu

Jim Bove
Department of Art and Design
724-938-5761
bove@calu.edu

Weifeng Chen
Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Information Systems
724-938-1539
chen@calu.edu

John Confer
Department of Earth Sciences
724-938-4211
confer@calu.edu

Laura Giachetti
Department of Academic Development Services
724-938-1693
giachetti@calu.edu

Chris Harman
Department of Health Science
724-938-4561
harman@calu.edu

Louise Nicholson
Department of Biological and Environmental Science
724-938-4388
nicholson@calu.edu

Michael Perrotti
Department of Secondary Education
724-938-5678
perrotti@calu.edu

Cheryl Vogrig
Office of Sponsored Programs & Research
724-938-6034
vogrig@calu.edu