Site Search

Faculty/StaffFaculty/Staff

Research Subcommittee

Broadly defined, research is work that enhances the knowledge of ourselves and the world around us by:

  1. producing new theories, criticism, concepts, or information
  2. exploring, interpreting, and evaluating extant theories, criticism, concepts, bodies of evidence, or programs
  3. applying theoretical, critical, or conceptual perspectives
  4. synthesizing any of the above.

It also includes examining and creating methodologies and other principles and techniques involved in these definitions.

Purpose

The purpose of the Research Subcommittee is to assist the FPDC in encouraging and supporting faculty and joint student/faculty research activities at California University. The subcommittee will make recommendations to the FPDC on related-research awards and activities.

Research Subcommittee Members

 

Sarah Downey
Co-Chair
Department of English
724-938-4719
downey@calu.edu

Leandro Junes
Co-Chair
Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Information Systems
724-938-1663
junes@calu.edu

Weifeng Chen
Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Information Systems
724-938-5786
chen@calu.edu

Maggie Habeeb
Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Information Systems
724-938-1539
habeeb@calu.edu

Daniel Harris
Department of Earth Sciences
724-938-5864
harris_d@calu.edu

Keat Murray
Department of English|
724-938-4199
murray@calu.edu

Kimberly Vanderlaan
Department of English
724-938-4721
vanderlaan@calu.edu