Site Search

Faculty/StaffFaculty/Staff

Faculty Professional Development Committee: Research Subcommittee

Broadly defined, research is work that enhances the knowledge of ourselves and the world around us by:

  1. producing new theories, criticism, concepts, or information
  2. exploring, interpreting, and evaluating extant theories, criticism, concepts, bodies of evidence, or programs
  3. applying theoretical, critical, or conceptual perspectives
  4. synthesizing any of the above.

It also includes examining and creating methodologies and other principles and techniques involved in these definitions.

Purpose

The purpose of the Research Subcommittee is to assist the FPDC in encouraging and supporting faculty and joint student/faculty research activities at California University. The subcommittee will make recommendations to the FPDC on related-research awards and activities.

Research Subcommittee Members

 

Paul Crawford
Chair
Department of History and Political Science
724-938-6054
crawford@calu.edu

Mark Aune
Department of English
724-938-4341
aune@calu.edu

Carol Biddington
Department of Health Science
724-938-5944
biddington@calu.edu

Weifeng Chen
Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Information Systems
724-938-5786
chen@calu.edu

Sarah Downey
Department of English
724-938-4719
downey@calu.edu

Leandro Junes
Department of Mathematics, Computer Science and Information Systems
724-938-1663
junes@calu.edu

John Nass
Department of Justice, Law, and Society
724-938-5726
nass@calu.edu

Michael Slaven
Department of History and Political Science
724-938-4035
slaven@calu.edu

Mark Tebbitt
Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences
724-938-4207
tebbitt@calu.edu