Site Search

Faculty/StaffFaculty/Staff

Faculty Professional Development Committee: Teaching and Learning Subcommittee

Broadly defined, teaching is the formal and informal professional activity by faculty that fosters and enhances student learning or academic achievement. It includes, but is not limited to, faculty commitment to:

  1. remaining current and knowledgeable in one's discipline
  2. being knowledgeable about various teaching techniques
  3. being knowledgeable about various assessment techniques
  4. being knowledgeable about up-to-date support materials, such as videos, handouts, software, technology, newspaper and magazine articles, etc.
  5. interacting with students in and out of the classroom as both instructor and advisor
  6. motivating student learning
  7. being knowledgeable about advising techniques, practices and support materials, as appropriate in the classroom or in advising.

Purpose

In an effort to realize the goal of enhancing the mission of student learning, the Teaching and Learning Subcommittee will promote, advocate, develop and support an interest in and concern for scholarship of teaching in individual faculty, departments, colleges and the campus as a whole. It will do this by determining faculty teaching needs; developing, arranging and promoting opportunities and resources to encourage creative teaching; and providing a variety of means to offer recognition for excellence and scholarship in teaching. The Teaching and Learning Subcommittee will also support, through its activities and awards, the University's three core values of civility, integrity, and responsibility.

Teaching and Learning Subcommittee Members

 

Denise Joseph
Co-Chair
Department of Communication Disorders
724-938-4576
joseph@calu.edu

Keat Murray
Co-Chair
Department of English
724-938-4199
murray@calu.edu

Summer Arrigo-Nelson
Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences
724-938-5732
arrigonelson@calu.edu

Joan Clites
Department of Nursing
724-938-5676
clites@calu.edu

Cheryl Hettman
Department of Nursing
724-938-4130
hettman@calu.edu

Min Li
Department of Chemistry and Physics
724-938-4152
li@calu.edu

Spence Norman
Department of Art and Design
724-938-5453
norman@calu.edu

Linda Pina
Department of Nursing
724-938-4129
pina@calu.edu