The College of Liberal Arts

Print/Download Page

The College of Liberal Arts is composed of the departments of

  • Art and Languages
  • Communication, Design and Culture
  • Criminal Justice
  • English
  • History, Politics, Society and Law
  • Music and Theatre
  • Psychology

These departments offer a diverse array of major and minor programs of study. A broad general education course of study, based on the liberal arts, encourages students to explore a variety of course offerings and to become aware of the ways many different disciplines understand and view the world. 

The College of Liberal Arts promotes academic excellence and prepares students for meaningful participation by fostering thoughtful engagement with scholarship, creative and professional work, and service in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Students should select a major by the end of the third regular semester or upon the completion of 45 credit-hours. This does not prohibit students from changing their major later in their careers; however, they will have difficulty completing requirements within eight semesters if they change majors after three semesters. Students who do not wish to pursue a single discipline or course of study have program options in liberal studies, humanities and social sciences. The curriculum in each is flexible and permits interdisciplinary study.