Strike A Spark Conference

Site Search

3rd Annual Strike a Spark Conference

This year’s conference was a great success!  There were over 150 unique presentations throughout the day and the conference was attended by over 450 students, faculty, administrators, staff and guests.

The event would not have been possible without the efforts of many individuals.  The Center for Undergraduate Research is most appreciative of the financial and administrative support provided by President Jones, Provost Barnhart, and Dean Hoover.  Their backing has allowed this event to grow and improve each year! 
It is also important to recognize and thank the many volunteer judges who donated their time and energy to critique and score student presentations.  Please also see these acknowledgements for a list of many other individuals who contributed to the success of the event.

Awards – Congratulations to the many awardees at Strike a Spark!

Serene Leadership Essay Contest Winners
      Click on each of the names below to read the award winning essays that responded to the prompt
      “What Does Diversity Mean to Tomorrow’s Leaders”
Haley Wable – 1st Place
Leah Seader – 2nd Place
Andrea Ceja – 3rd Place

  Creative Works, Poster, and Presentation Award Winners
here to see a full lust of the Strike a Spark awards for this year.

Contact Us

Comments on this year’s conference and suggestions for the 4th Annual Strike a Spark Conference can be directed to Paul Hettler, FPD Coordinator, (, or Gregg Gould, Center for Undergraduate Research Director (

Mark Your Calendars for the 4th Annual Strike a Spark Conference – Wednesday, April 25, 2018!