Site Search

Section Navigation

    Faculty Senate

    Faculty Senate Constitution and Bylaws

    The Constitution and Bylaws of the Faculty Senate Of California University of Pennsylvania

    It is in the finest tradition of the academy that the faculty gathers together in a formal and democratic fashion to articulate, promote and defend the ideals of a university. It is both fitting and proper that the faculty do so. Those chosen to represent their colleagues shall be known as Senators and the body to which they belong shall be called the Faculty Senate.

    As the largest deliberative, representative body of the faculty, the Senate shall, in its public discourse, promote intellectual life at the University and contribute to the academic leadership of the University.

    The Faculty Senate shall be concerned with all issues important to the University including academic freedom, scholarship, self-governance, curriculum, and academic and professional standards.

    Because the Senate is an independent body, it is free to pursue, without restraint, all issues of importance to the University. The Senate, when exploring these important university issues, may seek counsel from persons and entities both within and without the University.1 In its advocacy role, the Senate may sponsor forums, hold debates, and create committees to deliberate these important issues. Conclusions arrived at through these deliberations may result in recommendations to the University community. 




    TRIO & Academic Services 
    (Lisa Driscoll)              

    Laura Giachetti  Jennifer Ramsey
    Applied Engineering & Technology

    (Joseph Schickel)

    Jennifer Wilburn Aleksandra Prokic

    Art & Languages
    (Arcides Gonzalez)

    Scott Lloyd (Art)
    Biological & Envir. Sciences    

    (Robert Whyte)

    Louise Nicholson Carol Bocetti
    Business & Economics

    (Paul Hettler)

    Joseph Schwerha

    Chemistry & Physics
    (Matthew Price)

    Kausar Yasmin
    Childhood Education 

    (Diane Nettles)

    Peter Comas William Hug
    Communication Disorders    

    (Ralph Belsterling*)

    Samantha Procaccini Ralph Belsterling
    Communication, Design and Culture  

    (Greg Spicer)                       

    Macdonald Kale
    Counselor Education 

    (Liz Gruber)

    Criminal Justice  

    (Julie Warnick)       

    Julie Warnick   Mathilda Spencer

    Earth Science
    (Tom Wickham)

    Mario Majcen Susan Ryan
    Elementary Education Diane Nettles
    (Anthony (Todd) Carlisle)
    Keat Murray (F '17)
    Kimberly Vanderlaan (Sr '18)
    Kimberly Vanderlaan (F '17) 
    Keat Murray (Sr '18)
    Exercise Science and Sport Studies
    (Jeffrey R. Hatton)
    Ellen West Justin Baronner
    Health  Sciences   
    (Shelley DeCesaro)  
    Ayanna Lyles TBA
    History, Politics & Society   
    (Michael Slaven)       
    Cassandra Kuba Libby Larson
    Library Services   
    (Bill Meloy) 
    Ryan Sittler Loring Prest

    Math & Computer Science
    & Info. Systems
    (Mohamed Benbourenane)

    Paul Sible  Gina Boff
    Music & Theatre
    (Yugo Ikach/Michelle Pagen)
    Frank Stetar (Music)
    Music & Theater

    (Yugo Ikach/Michelle Pagen)

    John (JP) Staszel (Theatre)
    (Dr. Linda Pina)
    Joan Clites/Robin Weaver
    (Holiday Adair)  
    Justin Hackett Carrie Rosengart
    Secondary Education &
    Admin Leadership
    (Connie Monroe)     
    Susan Morris-Rutledge Michael Perrotti
    Social Work & Gerontology

    (Sheri Boyle) 

    Carolyn Wass 
    Special Education 

    (Jason Kight)

    Peter Heh
    Student Services
    (Dawn Moeller)
    Robert Mehalik

    Faculty Senate summary notes: