Site Search



Share | |

Posted on May 6, 2011

Event Details
2011 President’s Gala
6 p.m. reception, 7 p.m. dinner
June 4, 2011
Omni William Penn, Pittsburgh

Denise King

California University will honor alumni, recognize faculty and raise funds for student scholarships during the 2011 Alumni Weekend and President’s Gala, set for June 3-4.

President Angelo Armenti, Jr. and First Lady Barbara Armenti will host the annual President’s Gala in the Grand Ballroom of the Omni William Penn Hotel in downtown Pittsburgh. This year’s theme is “Puttin on the Ritz.”

Proceeds from the fundraiser benefit student scholarships.

The Gala reception begins at 6 p.m. on June 4, followed by dinner at 7 p.m. A silent auction, casino games and dancing also are on the agenda.

During the festivities, President Armenti will honor Mrs. Gwendolyn G. Simmons, winner of the Lillian Bassi Core Values Award.

Also being honored are these faculty award winners:

Retired professors Dr. Donald Thompson and Marsha Nolf will receive the President’s Emeriti Faculty Awards.

Honorary chairs are Robert ’66 and Suzanne Lippencott.

Alumni Weekend events

The President’s Gala is the highlight of Alumni Weekend festivities that begin June 3 with campus tours at 3 p.m., Cal U trivia at 4 p.m. and a 5 p.m. reception for members of the Class of 1961 in the Kara Alumni House.

The annual Pioneer Dinner follows at 5:45 p.m. in the Kara Alumni House. Special recognition will be given to the Class of 1961, but all alumni may attend; ticket price is $15.

On June 4, the annual meeting of the Alumni Association will open at 8:30 a.m. in Room 206/207 of the Natali Student Center. At 11 a.m. guests will convene for the annual Alumni Association Awards of Distinction Luncheon in the Performance Center of the student center. Cost is $15.

Alumni award recipients are:

  • Dr. Stan Komacek ’80 — John R. Gregg Award for Loyalty and Service.
  • Dr. Kate Mitchem — C.B. Distinguished Faculty Award.
  • Margaret Lappan Green ’70 — W.S. Jackman Award of Distinction.
  • Dave Robey ’77, ’80 — Michael Duda Award for Athletic Achievement.
  • Dr. Emily Sweitzer ’92 — Pavlak/Shutsy Special Service Award.
  • Fred Gladney ’92 — Professional Excellence Award.
  • Oliver Comstock ’08 — Young Alumni Award.
  • Adele Lynn ’74 — Meritorious Award.