Site Search

Gates at the entrance of California University of PennsylvaniaGates at the entrance of California University of Pennsylvania


Share | |

Posted on November 10, 2015

President Jones. To: All faculty and staff
Cc: All students
From: Interim University President Geraldine M. Jones

Because external funding is an important source of support for our University’s academic mission, I am always happy to recognize those faculty and staff members who develop grant proposals.

It is painstaking and time-consuming work, but the results can be significant.

At today’s Grant Writers Recognition Ceremony, we honored 50 faculty and 12 staff members who engaged in grant-writing during the 2014-2015 academic year. Collectively they submitted 75 proposals, resulting in 36 awards totaling $2.3 million.

That funding makes a real difference. Fifty percent of the awards were for service projects, 22 percent for instruction, 17 percent for research and 11 percent for software or equipment. In other words, sponsored research and external investment can impact every facet of teaching and learning.

Two very successful grant writers have joined the list of Million Dollar Achievers.

Both Dr. David Argent, of the Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences, and Dr. Christine Crawford, of the Department of TRIO and Academic Services, have been awarded more than $1 million in external funding during their careers at Cal U.

In the biology department, recent awards have expanded Cal U’s fisheries program, made summer field experiences possible for more than 30 students and purchased much-needed equipment. In academic services, the Student Support Services TRIO grant has assisted more than 2,000 Cal U students with their goals of college attainment since 1971.

The annual Grant Writers Recognition Ceremony also honored Dr. Susan Ryan, of the Department of Earth Sciences, with the President’s Award for Outstanding Grantsmanship. Dr. Lisa Kovalchick, of the Department of Math, Computer Science and Information Systems, received the Provost’s Award for Outstanding Grantsmanship.

In addition to these stellar grant writers, I want to applaud the 18 faculty and staff members who put their grantsmanship to the test for the first time in 2014-2015. It takes energy and conviction to plunge into this endeavor, and I appreciate the time and effort invested by this group.

All of our 2014-2015 grant writers are recognized in the Grant Writers Yearbook, published online. Please take a look. Congratulate a successful grant-writing colleague. Then think about a project you’re passionate about — and consider developing your own winning proposal.

With warm wishes,

Interim President Jones' signature.

Meet Interim President Geraldine M. Jones