2021 Strike a Spark CONFERENCE:

11:10 a.m. April 21, 2021
Cal U Convocation Center, South Wing

Dr. Susan Amara

Susan G. Amara


Susan G. Amara, Ph.D., is the scientific director of the National Institute of Mental Health intramural research program at the National Institutes of Health. Amara joined NIMH after serving as the Thomas Detre Professor of Neurobiology and Distinguished Professor at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. Work in her laboratory has focused on the structure, function and cellular physiology of neurotransmitter transporters, including the biogenic amine transporters, major targets for psychostimulant drugs and antidepressants. Amara received a B.S. in Biological Sciences from Stanford University and a Ph.D. in Physiology and Pharmacology from the University of California, San Diego and previously held faculty positions at Yale University School of Medicine, at the Vollum Institute in Portland Oregon, and as a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator at Yale and in Oregon. Her awards include the Burroughs Wellcome Hitchings Award in drug discovery, the Society for Neuroscience Young Investigator Award, the ASPET John Jacob Abel Award, a McKnight Neuroscience Investigator Award, a MERIT Award from NIDA, a NARSAD Distinguished Investigator Award, the Julius Axelrod Award from ASPET and the Julius Axelrod Prize from Society for Neuroscience. Amara is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (2004), a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) (2007), past president of the Society for Neuroscience (2011), and president-elect of AAAS (2020).

Presenter Elain Smith

Sarah Elaine Smith


Sarah Elaine Smith is an accomplished author who grew up in Greene County, Pennsylvania. Read more about her books and inspirations on her website. 

Learn More